Day Two: Icy Roads and Sidewalks, Fender Benders and Finds

img_20161206_100236

View from my hotel room in the morning.

I got a decent price on the hotel, which was what inspired this trip in the first place, but its probably because the room hasn’t been updated in twenty years and I think that the thermostat is for decoration rather than function.  But the hotel is in a decent location away from the downtown crowds, so the streets are quieter at night, which is a bonus with the thin, single glazed windows.  So this morning I listed some items on ebay that I brought with me so I could get some “work” done this morning as well.  I did a mass listing for eight Tim Horton’s soup bowls (purchased, not stolen) and a pair of size 44 True Religion jeans.  I typically list Diesel and True Religion as “buy it now” for $39.99, but the final sales showed that I may be able to get more.  Since a got a bid within ten minutes, with a starting price of $39.99, it seems like the Lululemon resale rule applies to True Religion:  The bigger the size, the bigger the profit!

img_20161206_093847

The fatter the ass, the fatter the profit!

After listing, I went to the $14 breakfast buffet which was included last time since I was staying in a suite but I didn’t think it was worth $14.  The food was lukewarm.  But it was off to my first stops of the day which I took the car out for.  I needed to meet someone that I sold a vintage suitcase to on Abbotsford Bidding Wars and we were both coincidentally in Victoria at the same time.  So in order to make the most of taking the car out on dangerous streets, I went to a couple of home consignment stores: Super Chance and Good Things Consignment. But nothing good was to be found at either.  I also went to a Salvation Army thrift store that was a little off the beaten track but I bought a “Hallmark Keepsake” Eastern Bluebird ornament that I think I can make a few bucks on.  It was in a shopping cart full of stuff and I wasn’t sure if it was stock that was going out on the floor or of the cart belonged to a very enthusiastic shopper.  I grabbed it quickly, inspected the product, and paid.  But it was off to meet my buyer at the Capital City Centre Hotel, which was a former Traveller’s Inn that was renovated and rebranded after that local chain went out of business.

The exchange went off without a hitch, but the entrance was on a hill that was covered in ice.  I was fine getting in, but I didn’t want to careen out of control and hit the cars parked on either side of the road.  As I was inching out, a butter yellow Chrysler PT Cruiser came barreling down the hill and I thought to myself, “I can see this turning out poorly,” and I was correct.  The back end slid out, and he glanced off the bumper of this 1980s Ford pickup.  The impact cracked and dislodged the Chrysler’s bumper.  I proceeded slowly down the hill, which was only 30 meters, and went around the Chrysler.  The driver had pulled off to the side at the corner and while it sustained damage, the Ford was none the worse for wear.  I enjoyed the whole episode immensely.

img_20161206_132338

Six brass uniform buttons from the Kings Own Calgary Regiment and one from the First Hussars.  Total investment:$3.00

After I parked the car, I did my standard antique store route by walking up and down Fort Street.  My first stop was at a collectibles store simply called Curiosity Shop and I poked through a box of military buttons sitting on the counter, and they were all RCAF, except for the seven above.  I had good luck flipping a mug from a branch of the military for $50 that I paid $3 for, so I thought I would try these.  Time will tell if I do well or not.  That was my only purchase on the former “Antique Row”.  Many of the few remaining shops are closing because the area is undergoing redevelopment.  After my walk up and down Fort, I headed to Command Post of Militaria on Government Street and looked around there.  They have a stack of plates from the Sons of Empire, which was a social club/fraternal organization in Victoria, and they were for sale for $5.00 a plate.  I’ll go back tomorrow and try and make a deal.  I didn’t want to carry around a heavy stack of plates.  From there it was to Green Cuisine Vegetarian Restaurant, which does a really nice buffet.  There was no line, thank God, because these weak vegetarians take forever to shuffle through, likely due to a lack of meat in their diet.

From there, I rounded out my day stopping at the downtown Salvation Army thrift store and on to the Value Village.  That location is easily the busiest I’ve ever been in, and for a time of year that is generally slow for that business, the place was hopping.  The jewellery section is always well organized and they had some jade cufflinks that I’m still considering.  I started at the jewellery and then zigzagged through the housewares and spotted a familiar sight.

img_20161206_161525

Five plates from Canadian Railway News!  The one at the bottom was individually priced at $1.99.  I’m starting to get an accumulation of these, and I hope to trade them to another collector.

There were no other jeans, though I picked up an interesting vintage puzzle that I will re-gift.  I spent probably and hour and a half browsing, and I will definitely go back in the days to come.

Leave a Reply

