Day One: Let it Snow, Rain, and Freezing Rain from Abbotsford to Victoria

Today was the start of my three night trip to Victoria, and I planned my journey to make the most efficient use of my time and resources.  First off, I got up early and did some ebay shipping stuff.  I had sold two items in the past day, and since I would miss one of my normal shipping days I prevailed upon my brother-in-law to bring them across the border to Sumas to mail them for me.  I got them both prepped mostly the night before, but I had to print off a shipping label for one in the morning.  I headed off to Aldergrove to leave them in his garage.  Of course this was the first day in a long time that we actually got snow, and it was lightly falling as I made my way to Aldergrove.  I gave myself ample time, so after I left the parcels I quietly entered the house to visit the cat, LB.

kitten-with-money

Who can resist such fluffy cuteness?!?!

From there, it was on to the freeway and to the ferry, a journey that included stop and go traffic, rain, snow, flurries, and heavy snow.  I took the Tsawwassen – Duke Point ferry to Nanaimo to visit some of the thrift stores and antique shops up there.  The sailing was fine and in the middle of the Strait of Georgia we found snow flurries and the captain made an announcement that a gray whale was flopping around out there.  So I got to do some whale watching, just like I did on the “Friendship Cruise”.  From there, it was off the ferry and out to Coombs to an antique shop that has yielded some good finds in the past, called “High Class” Junque.

img_20161205_093942

Nanaimo through the fog and flurries.

img_20161205_093927

Harbour traffic.

img_20161205_111946

“High Class” Junque store, site of my first finds.

I poked around in that store for quite a while, and I bought two pieces that I intend to flip on ebay.  Sadly, there was nothing here for my collection.  But the sky was getting brighter, so I spent some time next door at the Coombs Country Market and bought a couple of things to give away for Christmas.  The S.O.S. thrift store in nearby Parksville usually has some treasures but it and the local Salvation Army were both busts, so I headed back to Nanaimo through some very thick snow.

img_20161206_075827

My finds from “High Class” Junque: A Long Bell bowl made by Buffalo China and a pinecone pattern fruit nappy made by Tepco.  Since they are both American made, there is no place for them in my collection.

I stopped at a few thrift stores in Nanaimo, and there was nothing but crap.  I couldn’t find anything there for my collection or to flip.  I was tempted by some wine glasses at one store, but I wanted to save my money.  The last store I stopped at had a stack of Medalta soup plates that I ended up picking up.  They are plain, but sturdy like the Alberta clay they were made from.  My next destination was the Nanaimo Value Village, where I have had some luck in the past with some vintage crafting stuff.  By now, it was 3:15 pm and it was starting to get darker out.  I didn’t linger too long in the store but I did find a pair of Diesel jeans that I can make some money on, and on on the bottom shelf, I spied with my little eye…

img_20161205_150901

A Canadian Railway News fruit nappy.  The company has evolved from operating lunch counters and selling newspapers and is now operating such restaurants as Harvey’s, Milestones, Montana’s, New York Fries, and others. 

After this, I headed to Chemainus to visit one of the antique malls, but it to was a disappointment.  I bought a Steitz butter pat that I already had in my collection because it was only $10 and I didn’t want to leave empty handed.  By then, I was tired from the early morning and hungry, so I stopped at a grocery store in Duncan for a wrap, filled up the tank, and drove through more ugly weather to Victoria, and parked in front of my hotel, the Harbour Towers.  At this point, my brain was only working at 30% capacity.  When I walked in, some random guy asked me if I was the driver.  Since I had just parked in a passenger drop off zone in front of the hotel, I said that I was a driver.  Turns out, he thought I was a cab driver and I had to inform him that I was simply a guest at the hotel, checking in.  I hope Day 2 is more exciting.

Leave a Reply

