Summer Holiday Hunting

I finally have two weeks of summer holiday!  I vow to never wait so long during the summer to take time off again.  I was burnt out from work, and ready for some R&R, so I went to my parents’ cottage at the Shuswap for a couple of nights to relax, read, and enjoy the beach.  But after a day of that, I got bored so I decided to drive to Vernon, and visit some antique stores and thrift shops in between and see if I could find anything to add to my collection.  This is something that I do every year, and it usually turns out fruitless, but I don’t want to give up!  After all, luck was on my side because I already found a plain piece of restaurant ware at the Value Village in Chilliwack, where I stopped on my way to Anglemont, BC.

$4.99 is way more that I would like to pay for a plain piece of restaurantware, especially one that was coated in nicotine, but I was riding high from finding some jeans to resell on Ebay. But this was from the day before. The first find of my treasure hunt was a pink, floral restaurant platter that I found at a church thrift store in Salmon Arm for $0.25. It was practically free!

The other thrift stores in Salmon Arm yielded nothing, so I went non-stop down to Vernon to the Value Village there. I really lucked out because I found four more bowls. They’re plain but a great usable size.

At this point, I was getting pretty tired, and I took the extra scenic route back to the cabin, over the Chase-Falkland road. It has a portion of which that is still packed dirt and gravel, but the condition of the road was fine. I ended up going to bed early, and set my alarm for 5:30 AM to get an early start to head back home the next day.

Well I ended up waking at 4:00 AM, and finally gave up getting back to sleep and got up at 4:30, and was on the road shortly after five. By the time I got to Kamloops I was super tired, so I stopped at Tim Horton’s for breakfast and a coffee to keep me alert. The coffee didn’t help when I drove past Merritt without looking at my gas gauge and realized that an eighth of a tank wouldn’t get me to Hope, about 90 km distant, so I turned around at the Coldstream exit and went back to Merritt to fill my tank. By the time I got back to Chilliwack, it was well past ten, and that meant that thrift stores were open again! I visited about six of them, plus the Value Village once again, and I the only thing I found was an ironstone platter.

I ended up getting back to my apartment around 12:30, and right away jumped back in to the car with two parcels that I needed to mail at the US Post Office in Sumas. After the post office, I visited a friend, ran some errands in town and just before I headed home, I stopped at the Value Village about 300 meters away from home, and found the find of the trip!

wp-1471621086648.jpg

This platter is from the Terminal City Club, which still operates in downtown Vancouver!

wp-1471620874286.jpg

Leave a Reply

